Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
4

Mutual Aid x Dean Spade: Critical Questions to Begin Our Analysis (live replay!)

For your viewing pleasure! Introductions, critical questions for analysis and going over the first set of theses presented by the text.
4

The version of this video with captions is right here!!

A note: it took many, multiple hours to figure out how to caption this. A crime of inaccessibility. And I still have not found a decent way to imbed captions into a video this long. Does anyone have any resources? I do know that Final Cut Pro takes srt files but I am working on an iPad and I don’t think we have that capability yet. Do comment and let me know!

Live notes:

  • This is the book talk I reference in the live video. It consists of Dean Spade in conversation with Mariame Kaba and Ejeris Dixon to talk about mutual aid’s role in sustaining movements and creating communal safety.

  • There is also a video series that Dean Spade did with the Barnard Center for Research on Women. It is FABULOUS. Please watch if you would like to have accompaniment reading!

  • Also… a comrade recently sent me $100 to purchase the book for folks. Please reply to this email if you need a copy with your Venmo or cashapp. Purchase the books from Verso Books and DEFINITELY NOT crusty dusty union busty amazon!! Yay!!

  • My cat also literally jumps out the window in this live at around the twenty minute mark. I would like to note that she is okay she’s just reckless and liable to fight.

Thank you all for your patience with me on editing these. I’m excited to continue to learn with you all.

Ismatu g. <3

4 Comments
Threadings.
Threadings.
Authors
ismatu gwendolyn